Day 96

Day 96- Tue 6 Dec – We kicked off the pre-work book study on Knowing God. There were only 4 of us but we had a great time. I love the back story of Knowing God, a set of articles for the now defunct Evangelical Magazine, a refusal to publish it from IVP and now it is a multi million seller, a classic that will be read 100 years from now.
“The conviction behind the book is that ignorance of God – ignorance both of his ways and of the practice of communion with him – lies at the root of much of the church’s weakness today.”

 

I spent the  rest of the morning in Nero and the library getting ready for the lunchtime talk and Sunday evening. I was preaching the second half of my sermon on Romans 8:1-17 and it seemed to go off ok. I felt I had to spend too much time recapitulating on what we’d done last week. Afterwards I had some lovely conversations with people. The lunchtime talks doesn’t attract who I thought it might attract but I’m grateful for people who love to be there. There was a new Brazilian woman who beamed all through the talk and was full of questions afterwards. However I was told for the second time that I reminded someone of RT Kendall, that brings you down to earth with a bump I can tell you.

 

It was a joy to catch up with Iain Clements in the afternoon. Iain is the minister of Latimer Congregational Church in Beverley. He spent 4 years working with me at IPC as the Assistant Minister and did a great job. I wish we could have kept him in our Presbytery but it’s encouraging to see the work he is doing in Beverley. After seeing Iain I had to take Phoebe for the flu jab, she is so wonderfully happy and to so blissfully unaware of the needle that when it happens you feel terrible for inflicting that pain on her. Within seconds she’s forgotten about it.

 

Tonight was our session meeting and we managed to get through quite a lot of business. We talked at length about church membership which was helpful and there’s still more need for thinking there. Chris Roberts and Simon Arscott were with us and I think that helps us in discussing matters. I appreciate our elders and need to convey that more to the congregation. I’m wondering whether we should write an update on our meetings each month for the order of service. I couldn’t sleep so stayed up late working, doing admin and writing letters.
Leave a Reply

