Day 152

Day 152 – Tue 31 Jan – Yesterday morning was taken up with a pastoral visit and preparation for ELT. Stuart Cashman has got a great phrase about some of our preaching that it is ‘Coverage at the expense of learning’. I think that’s quite profound, so yesterday I covered Romans 9:21 – 10:21 and I think I was clear on the passage but I didn’t project it on to peoples consciences. It felt like Geoff Thomas sometimes calls it ‘a glorified bible study’. I’ve probably got 6 more weeks in Romans and then I think  I’m going to preach individual verses at ELT for a bit. Talk about a pendulum swing!

In the afternoon I had more pastoral visits so I cried off the boys bible study. I was back at 5 a side which was a terrific run out, some of the old magic remains! I stayed up to watch Match of the Day which was a bit daft.
Leave a Reply

