A year in the life…

So I’ve managed to blog every day for a year, I think there were 3 or 4 days when I didn’t manage to write something, but caught up the following day.  I’ve also obviously mixed up the numbers so it didn’t reach 365. Here’s some random lessons learned……

* Most days it’s quite difficult to remember what you did yesterday. The process of actually thinking through what you did has been worthwhile. It’s made me more thankful in my daily praying. People have often regaled the benefits of journaling which I’d never taken seriously before but it does have value.

* The temptation to exaggerate, make yourself look busier than you are is always there. Infact I find that in one day I can be both a workaholic and lazy. Those of us in church ministry need to be self starters in this regard. Discipline is a good thing.

* My reading is sporadic, there are times when I can fly through books but then other periods when I don’t get the time or struggle to actually get down to it. I also need to retain better what I’ve read, I’ve never had a system on this but it’s probably time I did.

* Mondays are absolutely vital – if I get a good start on preparation the rest of the week is more relaxed, if Monday gets taken up I’m normally really battling to prepare at the end of the week.

* I need to do more exercise

* Working late rarely reaps any reward

* Planning ahead means days off happen, no planning and things are often haphazard and family time can get crowded out

*  I could do with switching off more, I find in ministry that time to think is the hardest to carve out. There’s also no point in setting time aside to think and plan when you’re exhausted.

* I wish someone had taught me to write!

* Being prepared for Sunday’s enables me to be with the family more on the Lord’s Day

There’s other lessons I could point out but I’ll leave it there. Overall I’ve enjoyed writing the blog and had lots of good comeback, I will carry it on for a bit and maybe try and use it for referencing some books but we’ll see!

One thought on “A year in the life…”

Leave a Reply

